Qantas foundation announces art award winners

first_imgSource = Qantas Airways The Qantas Foundation has tonight revealedthe winners of the 2012 Encouragement of Australian Contemporary Art Award, with artists from each stateand territory taking home a share of cash and Qantas airfares in recognition of their artistic talents. Each winner receives $8,000 cash and $10,000 Qantas voucher to help further inspire their quest for artisticexcellence and support their ambitions. The Qantas Foundation received a shortlist of 24 submissions, with the entries assessed by an esteemedjudging panel including Elizabeth Ann Macgregor, Director of The Museum of Contemporary Art, andrenowned art collector Pat Corrigan. Other judges included Julie Lomax and Frank Panucci (AustraliaCouncil), art advisor Alan Dodge and 2011 winner Ash Keating. Qantas Foundation Director Olivia Wirth said the Foundation was delighted to support and encourageAustralian artists who could well be the next Brett Whiteley or Peter Weir. “The 2012 entries were an impressive line-up including contemporary painting, photography, sculptures andaudio visual pieces. We applaud the creativity and the originality of these modern artists,” said Ms Wirth. This year’s winners are:• ACT Chris Carmody – inter-disciplinary (abstract, observational and conceptual art)• NSW Jess Olivieri and Hayley Forward – (collective submission)performance, sound, video, dance and installation• NT Min Wong – site-specific installation, video and photography• SA Heidi Kenyon – digital video• TAS Mich Meijers and Tricky Walsh (collective submission) – inter-disciplinary(drawing, sculpture, moving image and sound and performance)• VIC Susan Jacobs – drawing, sculpture, performance and video• WA Andrew Varano – sculpture, model making, video and writinglast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *